African Eurasian Waterbird Agreement (AEWA - Eurasia)

The Agreement on the Conservation of African-Eurasian Migratory Waterbirds (AEWA) is the largest of its kind developed so far under CMS. It was concluded on 16 June 1995 in the Hague, the Netherlands and entered into force on 1 November 1999 after the required number of at least fourteen Range States, comprising seven from Africa and seven from Eurasia had ratified. Since then the Agreement is an independent international treaty.

Objectives and approach

Parties to the Agreement are called upon to engage in a wide range of conservation actions which are describes in a comprehensive Action Plan (2003-2005). This detailed plan addresses such key issues as: species and habitat conservation, management of human activities,research and monitoring, education and information, and implementation.

Institutional structure

The Agreement is governed by a Meeting of the Parties (MOP) who in turn have created a Technical Committee and a Standing Committee. The latter is responsible for matters related to policy, governance, administration and finance.

Work areas

The Agreement has an ambitious programme of work. With the productive outcome of 20 adopted resolutions the Third Meeting of the Parties to AEWA (23 – 27 October 2005 in Dakar, Senegal) paved the way for a host of activities to be implemented within the next three years. An important issue was the adoption of the Communication Strategy, which is expected to bring major improvements in internal and external communication, capacity building and public awareness.