Southern African Development Community (SADC)

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) was established by the SADC Treaty on 17 August 1992. The SADC´s goal is to further develop socio-economic cooperation and integration as well as political and security cooperation among its Member States. This Community complements the role of the African Union.

Objectives and approach

There are four Southern African Development Community (SADC) protocols relevant to TEMATEA. They are:

  • The Protocol on Fisheries;
  • The Protocol on Shared Watercourse Systems; and
  • The Protocol on Wildlife Conservation and Law Enforcement.
  • The Protocol on Forestry (even if it did not enter into force yet).

The objective of the SADC Protocol on Fisheries is to promote responsible and sustainable use of the living aquatic resources and ecosystems on its coastline in order to promote and enhance food security and human health, to safeguard the livelihood of fishing communities, to generate economic opportunities, to ensure that future generations benefit from these renewable resources and to alleviate poverty.

The Protocol on Shared Watercourse Systems aims at developing principles for management of such systems in the SADC.

The Protocol in Wildlife Conservation and Law Enforcement applies to the conservation and sustainable use of wildlife. It is based on SADC treaty principles of sustainable use of natural resources and effective protection of the environment.

The Protocol on Forestry seeks to promote the development, conservation, sustainable management and utilization of all types of forests and trees, promote trade in forest products throughout the region in order to alleviate poverty and generate economic opportunities for the peoples of the region, and achieve effective protection of the environment.

Institutional structure

The principal organs and institutions of SADC are:

  • The Summit of Heads of State and Government;
  • The Organ on Politics, Defence and Security;
  • The council of Ministers;
  • The Tribunal;
  • The SADC National Committees;
  • The Standing Committee of Senior Officials;
  • The Secretariat.
Work areas

The Protocol on Fisheries requires parties to coordinate the establishment of inland and marine protected areas, critical habitats and endangered species, especially migratory species in transboundary areas and also requires parties to develop fish management standards in inland waters.

The Protocol on Shared Watercourse Systems seeks to establish appropriate institutions for effective implementation.

The Protocol on Wildlife requires parties to enforce legislation governing the conservation and sustainable use of wildlife, particularly in transfrontier contexts.

The Protocol on Forestry State requires Parties to co-operate in good faith and be guided by, and give effect to, the principles and approaches set out in the Article 4 of the Protocol.