African Convention On The Conservation Of Nature And Natural Resources ( Algiers Convention)

The African Convention on the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (Algiers Convention) was adopted by the Organisation of African Unity (now the African Union) during its fifth summit in July 1968 in Alger.

Objectives and approach

The Algiers Convention introduced innovative approaches for the conservation of nature. It acknowledged, early on, the principle of common responsibility for environmental management by African States. This Convention focuses on living resources, calling for the creation of protected areas and for the specific conservation measures for species that are listed in its Annex. It also provides the grounds for the conservation of other natural resources such as soil and water, for the consideration of environmental concerns in development plans, and for research and education.

Institutional structure

The Convention does not organise an institutional structure.

However, the Organs of the African Union are the following:

  • The Assembly, meaning the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the Union;
  • The Executive Council;
  • The Pan-African Parliament;
  • The African Court of Justice;
  • The Commission;
  • The Permanent Representatives Committee;
  • The Specialised technical Committees;
  • The economic, Social and Cultural Council;
  • The Peace and Security Council;
  • The Financial Institutions.
Work areas

The Algiers Convention focuses mainly on the following topics: soil, water, flora, faunal resources, protected species, species traffic, conservation areas, etc.