African Convention On The Conservation Of Nature And Natural Resources (Maputo Convention)

The Maputo African Convention on the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources was adopted on 11 July 2003 at the Second Summit of the of the African Union in Maputo by the Heads of State and Government. This Convention is a revised version of the 1968 Algiers Convention. However, the Maputo Convention has not reached yet the necessary number of ratifications to enter into force.

Objectives and approach

The Maputo Convention retains the outline and structure of its predecessor, the Algiers Convention. The purpose of the revision was that the Convention remains the principle vehicle through which issues of particular concern to the continent may be considered and concerted action taken.

The objectives of the Convention are to:

  • enhance environmental protection;
  • foster the conservation and sustainable use of natural resources;
  • harmonize and coordinate policies in these fields with a view to achieving ecologically rational, economically sound and socially acceptable development policies and programmes.
Institutional structure

The Convention does not organise an institutional structure.

However, the Organs of the African Union are the following:

  • The Assembly, meaning the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the Union;
  • The Executive Council;
  • The Pan-African Parliament;
  • The African Court of Justice;
  • The Commission;
  • The Permanent Representatives Committee;
  • The Specialised technical Committees;
  • The economic, Social and Cultural Council;
  • The Peace and Security Council;
  • The Financial Institutions.
Work areas

The Maputo Convention focuses mainly on the following topics: land and soil, water, vegetation cover, species and genetic diversity, protected species, conservation areas, processes and activities affecting the environment and natural resources, sustainable development and natural resources, military and hostile activities, procedural rights, research, etc.