Agreement On The Cooperation For The Sustainable Development Of The Mekong River Basin

On 5 April 1995, Cambodia, Lao PDR, Thailand, and Vietnam signed the Agreement on cooperation for the Sustainable Development of the Mekong River Basin that created the Mekong River Commission (MRC). These countries agreed on joint management of their shared water resources and development of the economic potential of the river. In 1996, China and Myanmar became Dialogue Partners of the MRC and the countries now work together within a cooperation framework.

Objectives and approach

Members States agreed on an Agreement in which they could cooperate in a constructive and mutually beneficial manner for sustainable development, utilization, conservation and management of the Mekong River Basin water and related resources.

Institutional structure

The institutional framework for cooperation in the Mekong River Basin under this Agreement is called the Mekong River Commission. This Commission consists of three permanent bodies:

  • The Council;
  • The Joint Committee; and
  • The Secretariat.
Work areas

Parties agreed to cooperate in all fields of sustainable development, utilization, management and conservation of the water and related resources of the Mekong River Basin including, but not limited to irrigation, hydro-power, navigation, flood control, fisheries, timber floating, recreation and tourism, in a manner to optimize the multiple-use and mutual benefits of all riparians and to minimize the harmful effects that might result from natural occurrences and man-made activities.